New Building of Directorate of Health Services, MINECO, Khatla

Health Services and Hospital Medical & Medical Eduaction was bifurcated in the year 2004 from the Health & Family Welfare Department headed by Principal Director (namely Dr.T.Lalhmangaihi) . Health Services is functioning as a separate Directorate for more than 17 years. It is controlling rural health institutions i.e., Principal Medical Office, Kulikawn, Community Health Centres (CHCs), Primary Health Centres (PHCs), Sub-Centres (SCs) and Rural Hospital, Tlabung and all District Medical Offices. Also, Aizawl District has been functionally divided into Aizawl East and Aizawl West districts for health service delivery, each headed by a CMO.

Director, Health Services : Dr.C.Lalzepuii

Currently, Health Services in Mizoram is provided through one State Hospital (an upgraded district hospital), 12 district hospitals, Tertiary Hospital 1, Sub-District Hospital 5, 9 Community Health Centres, Urban Primary Health Centres under NHM 8, Main Centres 81, 372 Sub- centres & 148 Clinics (869 Nos. of Village & Population is 1091015 spreading across the state. Population norms set by the Central Government need to be relaxed for Mizoram in order to reach all members of the community. Different categories of technical and non-technical manpower work together in a coordinated effort to address the objectives and functions of Health Department. Directorate of Health Services is entrusted with the responsibility of implementing health facilities and various programmes in the medical field and patient health care services. The Director of Health Services is the Head of the Department and he is assisted at the State headquarters by the following designated Programme Officers etc.

1. Joint Director of Health Services ( Plan)
2. Joint Director of Health Services ( Malaria)
3. Joint Director of Health Services ( FW)
4. Joint Director (Food & Drugs)
5. Joint Director (Accounts)
7. Deputy Director ( Admn)
8. Dy. Director (SLO)
9. Dy. Director (Blindness)
10. State Mass Media Officer
11. Dy. Director (Malaria)
12. Program Officer (RCH)
13. Dy. Director (AYUSH)
14. Program Officer (SMPB)
15. State TB Officer
16. Dy.Director (Gen)
17. Dy. Director (Admn)
18. Executive Engineer, PWD
19. State Nodal Officer (Training)
20. Program Officer (EPI)
21. Program Officer (IDSP)/I.T.
22. Asstt. Director (SH)
23. Dy. Director (Food & Drugs)
24. Asstt. Director (Food & Drugs)
25. Programme Officer (Stats/Planning)
26. Asstt. Director (Nursing)
27. Research Officer
28. Superintendent