• On 28 March 2017, the Parliament passed the Mental Healthcare Bill, 2016
  • The Mental Healthcare Act was passed in India in April 2017, it came into force on May 2018, superseding the Mental Health Act, 1987
  • Consists of 16 chapters and 126 clauses. 

Mental Healthcare Act is an an act to provide mental healthcare and services for persons with mental illness and to protect, promote and fulfill the rights of such persons during delivery of mental healthcare and services.

Who are Mental Health Professionals?

  • Psychiatrists
  • Clinical Psychologists
  • Psychiatric Social Workers
  • Mental Health Nurses
  • To be registered with the concerned State Authority under section 55

Functions of SMHA:

  • Register all Mental Health Establishments in the State.
  •  Supervise all Mental Health Establishments in the State 
  •  Receive complaints about deficiencies in provision of services
  • Register clinical psychologists, mental health nurses and psychiatric social workers in the State to work as mental health professionals.
  • Train all relevant persons including law enforcement officials, mental health professionals and other health professionals about the provisions and implementation of this Act;
  • Discharge such other functions with respect to matters relating to mental health as the state Government may decide.