Health & Family Welfare Department was bifurcated in the year 2004 into Health Services and Hospital & Medical Education Department headed by Principal Director . Health Services is functioning as a separate Directorate controlling rural health institutions i.e., Principal Medical Office, Kulikawn, Community Health Centres (CHCs), Primary Health Centres (PHCs), Sub-Centres (SCs) and Rural Hospital, Tlabung and all District Medical Offices. Also, Aizawl District has been functionally divided into Aizawl East and Aizawl West districts for health service delivery, each headed by a CMO while Hospital & Medical Education is also functioning as a separate Directorate controlling Medical Institutions and teaching hospitals etc. Further, it is entrusted with the responsibility of implementing teaching, training and research programmes in the medical field and patient care services.